Laughing at ourselves one meal at a time.

I have a hellish schedule this week at work. Wednesday will be a LONG day. I will leave the house at 7 a.m. and will not get home until well after everyone’s bedtime (including my own). Luckily, I don’t have too many marathon days like that with my job. But I am disappointed that I will miss Wacky Wednesday.

John and the kids insist that they will forge on and enjoy it without me.

As I was thinking of something fun and different for them to do that doesn’t involve a lot of prep for John,  I realized that there is a one thing lurking in both John’s and my pasts that my kids have never enjoyed:  TV Dinners!

Yep, it’s true. As a kid growing up in the 70’s my own cook-from-scratch mom occasionally let my brother and I indulge in TV Dinners.  I don’t really remember what the food tasted like but it I do remember being giddy with excitement as she’d unwrap those divided tinfoil plates and set the timer on the oven. A heady combination of actually getting to eat something totally different from what my brother was eating (his favorite was Salisbury Steak while I favored Fried Chicken), seeing my dessert before I finished the rest of my meal and of course anticipating that my mom would let us eat dinner while watching TV! It was the one time I can remember that my bother and I didn’t fight about what our Saturday night line-up might be. We’d happily sit side-by-side and watch “B.J” and the Bear” or “Dukes of Hazard”  while devouring our meals and washing them down with our weekly bottle of soda that we got to split.

And so my kids will be dining on the modern-day version: Kid Cuisine!

And despite the packaging seeming like a terrible waste and the food being, perhaps,  full of more chemicals than I would prefer I am good with this. All things in moderation, right?

What kinds of foods are lurking in your childhood? Do you intend on sharing them with your kids? Why or why not?

Comments on: "When Mom is away the family WILL play." (3)

  1. Notice the fat content of that meal is 23% of the recommended daily intake for an adult. But this represents 85-90% of suggested daily intake for a 7-9 yro child. Are you raising kids or circus sideshow acts?

    • JohnCU – You bring up a valid point which is why I don’t feed my kids this kind of food with any regularity. I did wonder what kind of flack I might get since feeding this to my kids is definitely NOT my m.o. But all things in moderation, right?

  2. Correction, was comparing total fat content with trans recommendation. Looks like total fat is in the 23-38% range of the RDV.

Leave a Reply

