Laughing at ourselves one meal at a time.

Mmmmmmmmhhhhh

In honor of many things that start with the letter M, we’ll be forging ahead with Wacky Wednesday this week with a menu that features the letter “M.”

May. Hard to believe it’s actually May since it was snowing this morning… Come on. This is the  never-ending winter.

Mother’s Day. It’s really one of my least favorite holidays. And I think I finally figured out why. Someone else described as if there are two camps: One that wants to celebrate being a mom by spending time WITH their beloved children and the other who wants to celebrate being a mother with a break from their beloved kids. And figuring out who is in which camp is tricky. My own mother and MIL are definitely in different camps. And that whole situation was only made trickier after I became a mother. Any guesses as to which camp I am in?

Mary Jo. My Grandma Jo passed away  7 years ago on Cinco De Mayo. I feel so lucky to have had her in my life until my mid-30’s and that I was able to introduce the Sassy Lassy to her before she passed. My Grandma Jo was inspiring to me because she modeled just what I wanted to be when I “grew up.” She taught me a lot about working with what you have and about being a good person and about caring for others. What springs to mind when I close my mind and picture her is her coral lipstick and her wonderfully warm smile.  It lit up her whole face! I have so many good memories of her. Before she died, she remarked to my Dad about all the things she’s seen. She was amazed by it all. I wonder what she’d think of this blog? I bet she’d get a kick out of it.

So, here’s the menu for Wednesday night:

  • Macaroni & Cheese
  • Meatloaf
  • Melon
  • Marshmallow Pie

Turns out that not a lot of vegetables start with the letter M. Not that I think any of the kids will mind that.

Speaking of kids, we’ll be having a guest over every Wednesday in May for Wacky Wednesday. I hope it lives up to her expectations!

Leave a Reply

