Laughing at ourselves one meal at a time.

Pecan Pie in July?

Thank goodness I baked the pie last week! I checked in to start planning for tomorrow’s Wacky Wednesday and realized that I never posted this:

It’s curious to me that National Pecan Pie Day is in July. Living in the upper Midwest, pecan pie has largely been relegated to a Thanksgiving dessert.

I’ve always considered  it a Southern specialty and knew that New Orleans takes credit for it. The story is that it originated there amongst  immigrants after Native Americans introduced them to the pecan. Who else could come up with something so buttery rich while also being smooth and crunchy at the same time?

Thank goodness the temperature dropped this morning so I can actually turn my oven on… 

What else goes with Pecan Pie?

And then I must have gotten distracted because I never posted this. And now, Minnesota is in the midst of a heat wave. so it’s pretty funny to me that I baked a pie just last week. Since I don’t have central air just thinking about turning the oven on in my house tomorrow has me ready to check into an air-conditioned hotel with room service. But I won’t. Instead I am contemplating cooking tomorrow night’s meal in my car!

 

Leave a Reply

