Laughing at ourselves one meal at a time.

Why Wacky Wednesday?

I was talking to a friend the other day and she confessed that she just didn’t “get” the whole Wacky Wednesday thing. Fair enough.  I can appreciate that the idea of doing something silly & creative on a weeknight in the middle of the week during dinner doesn’t sound the most appealing. I mean, why would you want to have your kids involved in planning the menu and then laughing and joking on Wednesday nights as opposed to everyone being rushed and grumpy? All kidding aside, I do totally get it. Especially with two small kids and my husband and I both working outside the home. But the funny thing is? Instead of it being “one more thing” to do in an already busy week it is actually a time when we take a deep breath and it doesn’t seem like another weeknight dinner. Wacky Wednesday just has a different feel to it.

Here are some recent Wacky Wednesday shots. As much as I love WW and sharing our ideas, I have not had the time for the follow-up the next day. So here are some of the moments I managed to capture but haven’t shared before.

My fall view out the kitchen window:

The Sassy Lassy harvesting a cucumber for last week’s ROYGBIV dinner:

Here’s a pizza from our Totally Tomatoes extravaganza that was an epic fail. I am sill not sure what happened but it sure looked good:

It’s no secret that a lot of my Wacky Wednesday menu’s have a dessert component. Don’t let that fool you. We do  not have dessert every night of the week. But we do have it for Wacky Wednesdays. Why not? Dessert is fun, right? Mr. Mister certainly thinks so:

Even our dog, Lucy, gets in on the fun:

Wednessay  is just two days away. We’ve already got the menu planned. I had some help with it this week. Want a hint? My 7-year old planned it.

Leave a Reply

