Laughing at ourselves one meal at a time.

Git Yer Cotton Candy here!

I forgot to share last week’s revelry:

I was”hearing” the voice of a barker as I wrote that headline. You know, the seasoned veterans who shout out trying to grab your attention at outdoor festivals, carnivals and baseball games?

Last Wednesday was National Cotton Candy Day. An odd time of year for it if you ask me but it suited my purposes just fine for Wacky Wednesday. We celebrated cotton candy by enjoying a meal of our summertime carnival/fesival favorites:

  • Hot Dogs/Corn Dogs
  • French Fries
  • Watermelon
  • Peanuts & Crackerjacks
  • Cotton Candy

But here is the wacky part:  Have you ever tried to find cotton candy an a run-of-the-mill Decmber workday in Minnesota? Forget that packaged stuff. Honestly, it tastes as much like Fairy Floss (the original name for Cotton Candy when the machine to make it was patented in 1899) as packing peanuts do. Well, I DID find it. At the Mall of America, of course. But it was green. Yes, green. Granted, I am hardly a cotton candy connoisseur but I didn’t even know they made green cotton candy. Ewwww….  I loathe anything with any green artificial color/flavoring. Oh well, more for everyone else.

Fortunately for the kids, I haven’t settled on a theme yet for this week as December 14th is National Bouillabaisse Day. Somehow I don’t think fish stew is their idea of Wacky… Still mulling around a game of dinnertime bingo or all foods that start with D…

Leave a Reply

